Tags

, , ,

This post is a bit late since we are already 10 days into the new year but need to post anyway to get the ball rolling. I will be doing some back posting so hang on in there till I catch up πŸ™‚

A New Year and of course we all have some type of new years resolution. For most of us we make them but they don’t last very long and we give up. Well, I have jumped on the bandwagon and decided I wanted a few things to change/ be different for my family and myself this new year. I have neglected so much in the past year and seem to not be getting anywhere with my life. I sit and complain about how things are not what I want them to be instead of actually doing something about it.

*Warning transparency alert*

 

Sunday, our Pastor was talking about really trusting GOD to do what he said he is going to do, to not be afraid but to believe. (From the story in Mark 5:21-43) But to be aware that when God says yes, go, Satan will be there to tell you ” your no good, why bother”. And guess what, this is what I have been dealing with my WHOLE life. The feeling of not being worthy enough to do anything, always comparing my self to everyone and coming up short in all I do (in my mind). Therefore I will not succeed in anything!

So, I have decided to change things up a bit. Forgetting about becoming a failure and putting my “feelings” aside I have chosen to bite the bullet and DO something different and somewhat challenging. I have chosen to be a part of a 365 challenge. Where I challenge myself daily to photograph, process and post an image just as a daily record.

I know there will be many times I will not post, but I will tell you it is a better effort than last year. A part of my inspiration came from another photographer to just get in there and photograph. She received a letter from one of her clients and by reading the letter she shared it really makes you think about the memories we do or do not leave behind.

To read the letter, follow this link! Please do read it is really profound.

So with that letter and other inspirations from other photographers like Stacy Poterson who has a list of 27 things she wants to do before she turns 27. I have decided to do 12 things I would like to do in 2012. I did not make them all too difficult so I can accomplish most of them.

Here is my list:

1. Find out what Gods really wants for my life

2.Getting involved in something out side of my self, like church activities, mission work; maybe photograph a non-profit organization…

3.Plan out my 30th b-day party. I will be turning 30 in 6 months- doesn’t give me much time to prepare.

4.Blog at least once a week

5.Craft with my kids at least once a month

6.Commit to my 365 project- a photo a day, taking more pictures of my family and life

7.Put all 4 kids into a sport

8.Get a real job or find a way to bring in some extra income

9.Create a monthly menu plan like my sis in-law, so I know what to purchase each week and know what to cook each day. (I struggle in this area)

10.Succeed in my classes this year and doing the best to balance my life

11.Create a Lego station for my children’s many Lego sets. Lego’s are scattered all around the house, hopefully this keeps them somewhat organized.

12. Exercise… notice how this is on the bottom of the list. I am going to need LOTS of motivation.

 

Florabella just posted a photography guide for her Project 24, a creative photography challenge list.

And Grethel Van Epps who truly inspired me completely to do a 365 project of my own to capture the year. She has also created a coffee table book to display the pictures she has taken through out the year.

Hopefully by doing a picture a day, I will feel more comfortable behind the camera and build my style, which I know is lacking because I am totally all over the place.

So without any further ado my first picture to start the photo a day:

 

 

Hexbugs, I have already posted about these; so there is no need to repeat… unless you want me to πŸ™‚

